David Reed hails from Chicago. He was with a large transnational corporation for almost 40 years prior to being appointed as Mirandah Asia’s Consultant.

He graduated from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois with a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering and completed post-graduate training in Chemical Engineering at the University of Cincinnati.

His introduction to the legal field came in 1980 when he was placed on special assignment as the technical advisor to outside counsel in relation to a number of product liability lawsuits and eventually several patent litigation cases. He was formally transferred to the Patent Division (now the IP Division) in 1987 and became registered before the United States Patent & Trademark Office as a Patent Agent in 1988, and joined the section responsible for international patent filing and prosecution. A short time later he was promoted to manage the foreign filing and prosecution department with responsibility for filing and prosecution in Canada, Latin America, Middle East, Asia and the Pacific regions.

David has gained tremendous amount of experience in the provisions of the PCT. Over the course of managing the preparation, filing, and national/regional phase entry of over 8,000 PCT applications, he has utilized all of the available features of the PCT and has probably stumbled into and successfully managed his way out of most issues that exists under the PCT.

Because of this experience, he has been invited to speak on foreign patent practice, with concentration on PCT practice for organizations such as, American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA), Intellectual Property Owners Association, Licensing Executives Society (LES), plus a host of individual regional patent/IP law associations. He also teaches the basic and advanced PCT course for the Patent Resources Group (PRG).

He has lectured on PCT practice around the world including the countries of Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland, Trinidad & Tobago, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, and Uruguay.